Tags

, , , ,

After watching too many episodes of “Hoarders”, I started organizing my closet and came across a stack of old journals. Reading through these is both mortifying and highly entertaining, my entries range from insufferable to down right adorable. Here’s one that tugged at my heart strings, written in 1995 at the end of my first year in college.

When I was a little girl I used to think about what I would be like in high school and college. Now that I’m about to enter my second year of college, I’m thinking I did something wrong. I don’t think of myself as an adult, not even a young adult. I still feel like a seven year old kid running around in an adult world. Sometimes I’ll catch myself in a situation and think, “What am I doing here?” I start to feel like I don’t belong there and everyone who sees me will know it.

Just when I started thinking… hey, maybe I wasn’t such a little idiot, I came across this little gem.

I’m finding it very difficult to accept adulthood. Oh well, I guess one thing to look forward to is that I’ll get some new shoes tomorrow.

If I could go back and talk to my 18 year old self I’d tell her thanks for the laughs, girl. Oh, and just say no to the black lipstick.

 

