Tags

, , , , , ,

These ladies will brunch, come rain or shine. Last time we braved the downpour, and this week we were rewarded with warm California sunshine. The weather was so nice we decided to brave the 101 and hit BLD on Beverly Blvd. Traffic set us back, and we worried when we saw the large crowd milling about outside, but it turned there were a couple of seats at the counter (which is first come, first served) so we didn’t have to wait at all.

Now came the difficult task of deciding what to order! Aside from the regular brunch menu, there are also daily specials (BLD prints the date and weather on the menu, which is a brilliant touch). Marie and I decided to splurge and order a sweet starter before making any final decisions. We’d originally settled on a breakfast crepe, but our server highly recommended we try the Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes instead. He was so right, they were incredible!

My favorite pancakes are blueberry, but I’m often disappointed when they end up being regular pancakes with some sort of blueberry compote dumped on top. I want golden, fluffy pancakes with blueberries cooked inside them. BLD goes one better and adds ricotta cheese, the result is a thing of beauty. I’m still daydreaming about those pancakes, and next time I visit I plan to order a full order. I was able to find a recipe published in the L.A. Times a few years ago, so if you can’t get to BLD I highly recommend making some yourself. The pancakes are served with a side of softened butter and maple syrup in a teeny log cabin. I have to confess, I don’t actually like maple syrup, but that log cabin might inspire me to try it. We were off to a good start, so we perused the menu and, after a few sips of our Blood Orange Mimosas, made our final choices.

I knew I wanted to try one of the Benedicts, there are six to choose from (including a vegan version), I picked Ode to Butterfield’s. Ready for the description? Hang on to your hats: “thinly sliced flatiron steak, poached eggs, cabernet sauvignon hollandaise, house made english muffin (!) and choice of potato.” How could I resist?! I went with the home fries, which were so mind-blowing, I wanted to bust into the kitchen and steal a batch to take home. They’re described on the menu as Spanish chorizo home fries, and I assumed it would be the ground chorizo I’m used to seeing. But no! It was like pepperoni, and was so good, my mouth started watering as I typed this sentence. I ordered my steak medium, and it was perfectly cooked. The eggs were great, although the sauce hid the flavor a little, so I didn’t get to taste them as much as I would have liked. The whole thing was served on toasted homemade English muffin, which I couldn’t stop eating. Even after I was too full for another bite, I kept slicing off just one more bite of the muffin. The potatoes are what really blew me away, because we’d had the pancake before our main dishes, I knew I would get too full to finish everything on my plate. I made sure I gobbled up all my potatoes, so not a single morsel would be left behind.

Marie went with one of the specials, House Made Andouille Sausage Frittata (also available as a Scramble). You get your choice of potato and bread, she opted for the Spanish chorizo home fries and homemade biscuit. Marie was also a fan of the potato, and she’d never heard of sliced chorizo either. I gotta get my hands on some of that. The frittata was fluffy and delicious, made with piquillo peppers, roasted poblanos, and smoked Cajun cheddar cheese. The sausage and peppers made for a spicy and flavorful combination, everything was fresh and scrumptious!

The food at BLD was great, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is casual, there are plenty of metered spots nearby and there is some outdoor seating. We met Zoe, an adorable French Bulldog, enjoying the warm weather with her family outside on our way back to the car. What a perfect ending to a fantastic brunch!

Want to see what a couple of happy brunching ladies look like? Nothing puts smiles like that on these mugs except brunch!

