Tags

, , , , , ,

Now that those sick days are behind me, I can finally get back to important things like doin’ my nails! My pal Marie did a glitter gradient nail tutorial for Rookie last month, and I’ve been eager to try it for myself. I didn’t have the exact same polishes, but because my love of purple knows no bounds I had some shades that were very close. Marie isn’t a fan of the word ombre, but I just can’t help myself. It makes me feel like I’m channeling Tim Gunn, and when coupled with my favorite phrase ever uttered on reality TV, makes for a cheeky little title.

The goods, from left to right: Sally Hansen Top Coat, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri, OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyranees (greyish black), Sephora by OPI I don’t Bite (glittery/shimmery purple), OPI Louvre Me, Louvre Me Not (plum/berry), and Sephora by OPI Wild About Shimmer (photographs white, but it’s just a pale shimmery glitter)

I followed Marie’s tutorial, but I did go back and touch up the colors with the brush because my gothic tendencies needed the colors to be darker. But the sponge application was a great template and made dividing up the nail a lot easier than applying the bands of color freehand.

I really loved the way they turned out! The shimmery color I used at the end is my favorite new glittery touch! It’s so light, the perfect way to add some pizazz and cover up any little flaws. Besides being fun to say, ombre nails are a great way to use all those polishes in my collection!

Major ombre thumbs up!

